Chapter 1 - Hazard Components

Chapter 1 of the course provides an overview of the different kinds of catastrophes, known as the four key 'perils'. These cause the most economic or insured losses worldwide, and therefore are the main focus of catastrophe modelling. The four key perils consist of floods, earthquakes, wind storms, and tropical storms.

Chapter content

Dickie Whitaker

CEO, Oasis LMF

Dr Claire Souch

Director, AWHA Consulting